Wellness Connection

Alicia Marie

Smooth & Juicies!

Leave a comment

When my schedule becomes a crazy connect the dot mess, it is quick and easy for me to opt for processed protein bars over whole food options. Even if they are “healthy” they are also expensive, frequently sugar ridden (so not healthy), and frankly just not the same.

Behold my solution:

I bought myself a juicer!!

Guzzling up a couple green juices each day provides me with a filling snack and a creative way to meal plan! While I am washing my veggies in preparation, I will cut up a bunch of them to set aside and Tupperware away. I then have quick grab and go green juice and a week’s worth of chopped up veggies to throw on salads, mix with rice or quinoa, and to sauté on their own.

Juicing Prep

You might ask-but Alicia, Alicia!-Doesn’t juice go bad fast? Yes, although drinking juice immediately after it is made is best since it allows your body to absorb maximum vitamins and nutrients, the juice will still stay good for about 24 hours. Just ensure that you store your juice in a mason jar. The juice must be filled to the top and sealed tight. If there is space left between your juice and the lid of your jar, your juice will become oxidized and loose that power punch of veggie nutrition.

I simply whip out my juicer every two days when I have a gap in my schedule to prepare my juice for the current day and in advance for the next day.

Green Juice

As my juicing adventure begins alone in the kitchen, I must note that I do find myself to be a delightful conversationalist. Often times I catch myself spinning words into slush- “smooth and juicies” for starters this morning! I did make some delicious smooth today with my carrot juicie.

Carrot Smoothie Prep

Ingredients
• 1 mango
• 1 banana
• 3/4 cup carrot juice
• ½ cup orange juice
• Optional vanilla protein powder
• Optional unsweetened coconut flakes ( can combine within smoothie or sprinkled on top)

Alicia Marie's Carrot Smoothie Topped With Coconut

For my juice I use a 3:1 vegetable to fruit ratio, but for smoothies I indulge in my fruits 🙂

Reasons for Choosing A Juicer Over A Vitamix:

I struggled choosing between a vitamix (sooo pricey) and a juicer. What I found is that a Vitamix keeps the fiber in your smoothies and a juicer does not. A juicer however will extract mostof the nutrients from your fruit and veggies. As a general rule, a diverse range of vegetables are the most challenging to implement into our diets. Fruits tend to be a little bit easier. Therefore, juice your vegetables-extract all of those vitamins and blend your fruit for that fiber.
If I juice tough veggies such as kale that my cheap-o blender would upchuck, I can pour the kale juice into my blender and then blend the kale juice with softer fruits that my blender can handle. It is like a two in one deal. I can make green juice and green smoothies now! Or as I caught myself saying in the kitchen “Green smooth and juicies!”

Mercola, Joseph, Dr. “Juicing: Your Key To Radiant Health.” Mercola.com. Joseph Mercola, 13 Nov. 2011. Web. 1 June 2013.

Author: Alicia Marie

Avid runner, lover of sunshine, adventurer, big dreamer, beginner vegan.

Leave a Reply

