Wellness Connection

Alicia Marie

A Self-Love Series

Leave a comment

“If I don’t give myself time to think and dream and talk in the mirror, then I get lonely and blue. I need me.”- Kris Carr

Despite running my own blog, it really wasn’t until today that I really craved writing. I mean, seriously, all I wanted to do was drive home, grab a pen and go. Suddenly I envisioned about twenty different topics to write about related to health, but in the mental and heart-felt capacity. I will advocate a vegan and vegetarian diet probably until the day I die, but it would be silly for me to not recognize how incredibly influential peace of mind and a loving relationship with oneself dictate our overall health. On that note, I decided to start “A Self-Love Series” where I will write about finding inner peace and nurturing the relationship you have with yourself first and foremost.

Self-Love is a very important topic to me personally because for much of my life I really did not consider my own needs, dreams, fears, and individuality as parts of a unique soul that deserved love and attention.

It sounds so simple when you read it. Like, duh, absolutely you need to love yourself. My automatic response to the question “Do you love yourself?” would have been “of course.” Well, that may have been true, but that does not mean that I was tending to my own needs the way I would have to a friend or boyfriend. It is one thing to love yourself, but it is a completely different world when you spend quality time nurturing that love.

Step back and ask yourself if you tend to yourself the way you would to your significant other. Do you take yourself out on dates? Do you set aside time for yourself to do the groovy things that make you feel like you? When you are tired or stressed, do you give yourself a hug, meditate, take a bath, play guitar, or escape into your favorite book?

Or do you drink every day to take the edge off? Do you find yourself smoking to be numb? Do you work out until your body is too weak to function?

Do you answer defensively to these questions ;)?

Love is imperfect. Strive for unconditional love. Love yourself unconditionally. That is not always easy to do. We let ourselves down, beat ourselves up, rinse and repeat. Unconditional love for oneself is a work in progress and probably should be for the span of our lives. It is about learning as we change and grow and then extending that patience and compassion towards others as they embark on their own journey of self-love and acceptance.

I do not have all of the answers. I tend to struggle with unconditional love during different phases and through different obstacles of my life, but as the girl who was once dubbed “scared of her own shadow” I have transformed my perspective and developed a relationship with myself that I truly love and cherish. “A Self-Love Series” are tools and thoughts of encouragement I offer to you for those days you are down in the dumps and looking for a little pep talk to nurture your spirit and rekindle a healthy, loving relationship with your special, beautiful, deserving self.

To Love Oneself-Alicia Marie's Self Love Blog Series

Author: Alicia Marie

Avid runner, lover of sunshine, adventurer, big dreamer, beginner vegan.

Leave a Reply

