Wellness Connection

Alicia Marie

Wake Up It’s Fall

2 Comments

I return to my blog the first week of Autumn after almost half a year’s passing. I became consumed in interviews and adjusting to my new job at the headquarters of a prestigious local nonprofit. Prior to this I was working for the government. Biggg mistake. I was treated poorly and it damaged my self-esteem more than I could fully comprehend at the time.

My current position is a much better fit. The work can be high stress and the commute is horrible, but I have learned more than I could have imagined possible in such a short amount of time. I coordinated a team volunteer event within my first two months, co-facilitated a large meeting, went on my first mini business trip, covered for my manager while she was travelling–the list goes on!

Alicia Marie Nutrition Blog

Last week we were lucky enough to have Arianna Huffington present at one of our speaking events. Of all the inspiring wisdom she shared that day, this particularly resonated with me:

“Taking care of yourself is not an indulgence. It is a necessity.”

This was a wakeup call. And it most definitely was not a coincidence. I have been so moody, sleep deprived and down on myself for the last two weeks. The first seven days I called it hormones. After that, I knew something needed to change. Everything pointed me back to blogging.

I miss connecting with people from all different walks of life around the world, cooking and baking, photography, taste testing, reading about nutrition (just received “Eat & Run” by Scott Jurek in the mail!), sharing the vegan love, inspiring people to get outside and run—everything.

With that, I built myself a light box, found some recipes for inspiration and renovation and started cooking!

I experienced doubts building my light box. It certainly didn’t turn out as perfect as Angela Liddon’s light box in her how-to demonstration, but it serves its purpose. I can always revamp it in the future 🙂

Light Box Alicia Marie Nutrition Blog

I love how delicious that salad looks with the bright colors illuminated. I have to be honest. It tasted like shit. I literally threw in any colorful fruit or vegetable I could find to test out the power of my lightbox…no consideration to taste whatsoever (haha!)

I showed my mother a picture of my lightbox this past weekend and talked to her about really dedicating my time to blogging. She was so encouraging. It really made me feel like sometimes “mom knows best.”

I talked about how I wanted all of my pictures to be perfect, just like Angela Liddon’s gorgeous recipes on her Oh She Glows blog. I wanted to write everything ahead of time, etc., etc. The pep talk from my mom went something like this “People like to hear about failure and people like to watch you grow. It gives you more human qualities and its gives people something to relate to. Don’t worry about everything looking perfect right now—just keep blogging.”

Aww! It really inspired me to continue doing what I love most—writing and throwing myself into nutrition education, connecting with other foodies without the fear of living up to some unrealistic standard that I set for myself.

Another good point from mom, “I truly believe every woman needs her own kitchen.” And that I so agree with. It is so hard to make space for my photography and cooking when borrowing a kitchen. All I can do is work with what I’ve got and do the best I can. So that is the plan!

I can’t wait to share everything I’ve learned over the past several months. It has been quite the journey and I look forward to sharing it with you again. Sneak peek to my upcoming reci-post! Any guesses?

Chickpea Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich Alicia Marie Nutrition Blog

So happy to be back!! Happy first week of Autumn 🙂

Alicia Marie Health Blog

Author: Alicia Marie

Avid runner, lover of sunshine, adventurer, big dreamer, beginner vegan.

2 thoughts on “Wake Up It’s Fall

  1. Love hearing your voice through your written word. Keep on sharing your journey with us.

  2. Thank you, Mary 🙂 You mean the world to me. Thank you so much for your support. I’m flattered that you took the time to read this!

Leave a Reply

