Wellness Connection

Alicia Marie

Chia Boom Boom Smoothie

2 Comments

It is already almost halfway through October—can you believe it!? Walking through my office last week I overheard people lamenting the grey Seattle haze. Come Friday the question “How are you doing” prompted more “Happy it’s Friday!!” responses. Not an uncommon response at the end of the week, but nevertheless, Fridays seem more welcome when the weather starts to turn blue.

Before you reach for that second cup of coffee, try a green smoothie. If it turns out a second cup of coffee is still needed afterwards, you can find peace in knowing you hydrated yourself and sloshed down antioxidants, tackled eating vegetables even if you didn’t feel like eating them and boosted your mood in the meantime. The mood and energy boosting properties in this Chia Boom Boom smoothie come from not only the chia seeds, but also the maca powder.

Historically both chia seeds and maca powder have been used by Native Americans for both nutritional and medicinal purposes. Maca powder encourages positive functioning of the endocrine system. In my post about hypothyroidism I talked about how your endocrine system is composed of all of our glands that secrete hormones and control sexual function, fertility, brain and nervous system physiology, digestion and energy.

Chia seeds are energizing and keep you feeling full longer. Those tiny seeds expand in liquid and adopt a jelly-like tapioca appearance.

Intimidated by the price and unfamiliar sounding ingredients? One tablespoon of chia seeds is three grams of protein and only 60 calories. They are sold for a reasonable price at Trader Joes but can also be purchased in bulk at Whole Foods.

Chia Boom Boom Smoothie Alicia Marie Health Blog

Chia Boom Boom Smoothie

1 C. Soy Protein
2 Tsp. Ginger

2 Tsp. Maca Powder

2 Tbs. Chia Seeds
½ C. Marionberries (or berries of choice)
½ Banana

1/2 C. Kale or Spinach
3 Ice Cubes
½ C. Almond Milk
Dust of Cacao Powder on top

The sprinkle of cacao powder on top really compliments the ginger in this smoothie. It gives the smoothie a punch from the first sip. Cacao powder is also a high source of antioxidants.

If you’re willing to indulge on any special ingredient in this smoothie, I would first purchase the chia seeds. You can add them to oatmeal, smoothies, pancakes–anything. Next, I would go with the cacao powder as it is a bittersweet chocolate also easy to add to everyday recipes. The maca powder although nourishing does have a slightly strange, bitter taste so I might save that one for last.

Quick update on my hip. In my last post I talked about my relentless efforts to find out what was wrong and finally settled on getting an MRI. I found out that I have tendonitis. I think resting will be the first step for healing this one. I’m doing Blogilates and Tony Horton videos. (Best surprise ever was that they made two videos together! Kicked my a**.) Occasionally I walk, but my hip has been so sensitive I hesitate to do much cardio. Fingers crossed that by mid-November I can start jogging or at least going on long walks regularly.

I would love to hear how you are doing! Fill me on in on your health journey. They are all so unique and inspiring. It can be so much fun to put our heads together to work through our different fitness and nutrition challenges.

Peace, Love and Happy Smoothie Drinking,

Alicia Marie Health Blog

Author: Alicia Marie

Avid runner, lover of sunshine, adventurer, big dreamer, beginner vegan.

2 thoughts on “Chia Boom Boom Smoothie

  1. now THAT is a beautiful looking smoothie! =)

Leave a Reply

